Chiriqui

The province of Chiriqui is located in the west of Panama. In the north of Chiriqui you will find the province of Bocas del Toro; in the west Chiriqui borders with Costa Rica, in the east with the province of Veraguas and in the south it lies along the Pacific Coast. 400.000 people are living in Chiriquí featuring an area of 6.476,2 km². The provincial capital David does not only represent the third largest town of Panama with its approx. 120.000 inhabitants, but also the economic engine of the country. Due to the extremely changing climate in Chiriqui a lot of fruits, flowers, vegetable and tobacco can be cultivated. Furthermore this area is used for horse- and cattle breeding. Chiriqui is known for its great variety of flowers and one of the best coffee beans all over the world. This province of Chiriqui is characterised by having the highest contrasts of Panama. It does not only have a very long coastline, but also 3000 m high mountains. Thanks to this varied scenery you are offered everything you are dreaming of. Be sure that it will never become boring there! Your attention will mainly be focussed on the three small villages which considerably contribute to the popularity of this region: Volcan, Cerro Punta and Boquete. The charming little town Volcan is located close to the inactive volcano "Volcan Baru". With a height of 3475 meters it is the highest mountain of Panama and a part of Volcan Baru National Park.

Volcan

Volcan Panama

Volcàn is a town in a distance of 32 km to Panamericana, i.e. it is located in the middle of the Central American state Panama which in

Read more...

Isla Boca Brava

Boca Brava

Boca Brava is located in the Pacific Ocean in the Gulf of Chiriqui. It is one of many islands which can be reached from the port of Boca Chica.

Read more...

Cerro Punta

Cerro Punta

A rather steep and winding road in the western part of the province capital town David near to the small farming town will lead you towards the north to

Read more...

Las Lajas

Las Lajas

The sand beach Playa Las Lajas – crowded with palms - at the Pacific coast of Panama is one of the most beautiful places in Las Lajas.

Read more...

David

David Panama

In former times the Chiriqui were a nation settled in the west of Panama. Their culture became known due to various grave-finds with different

Read more...

Boquete

Boquete Panama

The district Boquete is divided into six further administration units: Bajo Boquete, Alto Boquete, Palmira, Los Naranjos, Boquete and Caldera.

Read more...

La Barqueta

Barqueta Beach

La Barqueta, a coastal region in the province Chiriqui, is located in the western part of Panama. It can be reached by car within 40 minutes

Read more...

Concepcion

Concepcion Panama

Concepcion is located in the west of the capital town David in the Panamanian province Chiriqui close to the frontier to Costa Rica.

Read more...

Boca Chica

Boca Chica

Boca Chica is a small fishing village in the very south of the province Chiriqui, which offers several little accommodations, restaurants and a

Read more...

Chiriqui

Things to do in Chiriqui

Chiriqui is due to its landscape and climate one of the most diverse  provinces of Panama. The highly abundant nature in this region is world famous and will amaze all its visitors. Because of the extremely favorable geographical location and the pleasant climatic conditions Chiriqui has developed a stunning biodiversity and invites to various activities:

Trekking - The highlands of Chiriqui is a perfect place for day trips or trekking tours. Especially Boquete and Volcan are suitable for such trips as a starting point. There are countless routes take one through dense jungle, past waterfalls and panorama viewpoints. On the way you will often spot a lot of different exotic animals such as sloths, jaguars, and hundreds of bird species.

Canopy - A unique way to discover the the flora and fauna of this region. This special wire rope allows you to have an incredible view of Chiriquis nature and its inhabitants. In Boquete, there are many ways to do Canopy Tours.

Birding - Chiriqui and particularly its plateau is known for its large number of bird species. In the tropical forest of this region are very many ornamental and native singingbirds and can be observed with a good eye and a little bit of patience, for example, toucans, parrots and even the very rare Harpy Eagle. Also the Quetzal, with its magnificent plumage, which is very popular among birdwatchers, can be observed very often in Chiriquis misty forests, especially in International Park La Amistad.

Whale watching - Chiriqui has not only fantastic highlands, but also miles of Pacific coastline. Especially in the months of August to December a lot of whales can be spottet even from the shore. In the winter months it attracts the whales of the southern and northern hemispheres to warmer waters, where they mate and calve. The local fishermen already prepared themselves and specialized offering whale watching tours.

Snorkelling - The Pacific coast of Chiriqui is long and owns  a large number of islands. Snorkelers and divers have discovered the region of the Marine National Park Gulf of Chiriqui for years for themselves. The national park is home to many large islands with coral reefs and a very colorful and vibrant underwater world.

Surfing - Surfing can also be done in Chiriqui. The best beach for this activity is La Barqueta. La Barqueta offers constantly decent waves almost all year long. Also recommended by a lot of surfers is peninsula of Punta Burica and Las Lajas.

Deep Sea Fishing - The abundance of fish in Chiriquis waters has not gone unnoticed. Fans of Big Game fishing and anglers enjoy the best conditions there and because of that many tour Operator have settled there and offer multi-day boat trips.

Highlights of Chiriqui

  •  Boquete - The small town of Boquete is the highlight of Chiriqui and is the starting point of many trekkin tours. Boquete is also called the city of flowers and rainbows. You can also find the best coffee of the country in Boquete.

  •  La Amistad National Park - This park consists of dense tropical cloud forest and is home to animals such as the jaguar, the harpy Eagle and the magnificent Quetzal.

  •  Marine National Park Gulf of Chiriqui - This national park is home to numerous islands and offers divers, anglers and holiday maker divine conditions. The island of Boca Brava is a very popular destination for relaxing at the beach and snorkeling.

How to get to Chiriqui?

By plane - From San Jose, Costa Rica to David, there are daily flights. The local airline AirPanama flies at least twice a day from Panama City to David. The planes take off from Albrook airport.

By bus - Several buses go from the bus station Albrook in Panama City directly to David. The trip takes about 6 hours. From David you can take minibuses that bring you to Boquete, Boca Chica, or Volcan.

By car - The journey to David with the car is just like traveling by bus.

Panama Travel Tip

Don’t miss a trip to the province of Chiriqui to get to know one of the most beautiful and diverse provinces of Panama. The climatic conditions are perfect for travellers of higher ages.

Since 2007 the online travel guide #1 for Panama and Panama City.

 

Company

Services

Connect

  travelpanama.eu

  info[AT]travelpanama.eu

Chiriqui

Chiriqui ist eine der kontrastreichsten Provinzen Panamas

Die Provinz Chiriqui befindet sich im Westen von Panama. Im Norden grenzt Chriqui an die Provinz Bocas del Toro, im Westen an Costa Rica, im Osten an die Provinz Veraguas und im Süden an den Pazifik. In Chiriqui leben, auf einer Fläche von 6.476,2 km², 400.000 Menschen. Die Provinzhauptstadt ist "David", die mit ca. 120.000 Einwohnern die drittgrößte Stadt von Panama ist und den wirtschaftlichen Motor der Provinz darstellt. Das Klima in Chiriqui variiert extrem und ermöglicht den Anbau vieler Früchte, Blumen, Genussmitteln und das Züchten von Rindern und Pferden. Chiriqui ist bekannt für den Reichtum an Blumen und eine der besten Kaffeebohnen der Welt. Chiriqui ist wahrlich die kontrastreichste Provinz Panamas, mit seinen tiefliegenden Küsten und über 3000m hohen Gebirgen bietet diese Provinz alles was das Herz begehrt und Abwechselung ist garantiert. Hauptaugenmerk liegt dabei auf drei kleinen Dörfern, die maßgeblich zur Popularität dieser Region beitragen: Volcan, Cerro Punta und Boquete. Die einladene, kleine ruhige Stadt Volcan befindet sich nahe dem ruhenden Vulkan "Volcan Baru", der mit 3475m, der höchste Berg Panamas ist und Teil des Nationalparks Volcan Baru.

Isla Boca Brava

Isla Boca Brava

Isla Boca Brava befindet sich im Pazifischen Ozean, mitten im Golf von Chiriqui. Sie ist eine der vielen Inseln, die vom Hafen von Boca

Weiterlesen...

Boca Chica

Boca Chica

Boca Chica ist ein kleines Fischerdorf ganz im Süden der Provinz Chiriqui. Es bietet mehrere kleine Unterkünfte, Restaurants und einen Hafen. Die

Weiterlesen...

La Barqueta

La Barqueta

La Barqueta, eine Küstenregion die der Provinz Chiriqui angehört, liegt in der westlichen Hälfte Panamas. Mit dem Auto ist diese Region

Weiterlesen...

Boquete

Boquete

Der Bezirk Boquete unterteilt sich nochmal in sechs weitere Verwaltungseinheiten: Bajo Boquete, Alto Boquete, Palmira, Los Naranjos,

Weiterlesen...

Volcan

Volcan

Volcàn ist ein Ort, welcher 32 km fern der Panamericana liegt, also mitten im mittelamerikanischen Staat Panama,

Weiterlesen...

David

David

Die Chiriqui waren einst ein Volk das im westlichen Panama angesiedelt war. Ihre Kultur wurde durch verschiedene Grabfunde bekannt.

Weiterlesen...

Las Lajas

Las Lajas

Eines der schönsten Plätze in Las Lajas ist der Sandstrand, welcher mit Palmen umsät ist, in Playa Las Lajas, der an der Pazifikküste Panamas

Weiterlesen...

Concepcion

Concepcion

Concepcion liegt westlich von der Hauptstadt David innerhalb der Provinz Chiriqui in Panama, unweit zur Grenze von Costa Rica,

Weiterlesen...

Cerro Punta

Cerro Punta

Im westlichen Teil der Provinzhauptstadt David, in der Nähe der kleinen Agrarstadt Concepciòn, führt eine recht steile und

Weiterlesen...

Chiriqui

Aktivitäten in Chiriqui

Chiriqui ist landschaftlich und klimatisch eine der kontrastreichsten Provinzen Panamas. Die überaus üppige Natur in dieser Region ist weltbekannt und lässt seine Besucher staunen. Auf Grund der äußerst günstigen geographischen Lage und den angenehmen klimatischen Bedingungen hat sich in Chiriqui eine atemberaubende Biodiversität entwickelt und läd zu zahlreichen Aktivitäten ein:

Trekking - Das Hochgebirge von Chiriqui ist ein perfekter Ort um Tagestouren bzw. Trekking Touren zu unternehmen. Vor allem Boquete und Volcan bieten sich für solche Ausflüge als Ausgangspunkt an. Es gibt unzählige Routen die einen durch dichten Dschungel, an Wasserfällen vorbei oder zu Aussichtspunkten führen. Auf dem Weg lassen sich natürlich die ein oder anderen extotischen Tiere erblicken, wie zum Beispiel Faultiere, Jaguare und hunderte von Vogelarten

Canopy - Ein einzigarte Form die Flora und die Fauna dieser Region kennenzulernen. Mit Hilfe dieses Drahtseils hat man einen unglaublichen Blick auf Chiriquis Natur und deren Bewohner. In Boquete gibt es viele Möglichkeiten Canopy Touren durchzuführen.

Vogelbeobachtungen - Chiriqui und besonders seine Hochebene ist bekannt für seine große Anzahl an Vogelarten. Im tropischen Urwald dieser Region sind sehr viele Zier- und Singvögel heimisch und lassen sich mit einem geschulten Auge und etwas Geduld beobachten wie zum Beispiel, Tukane, Papageien und sogar die überaus seltene Harpyie. Vorallem der unter den Vogelbeobachtern sehr begehrte Quetzal, mit seinem prächtigen Gefieder, ist in den Nebelwäldern Chiriquis sehr häufig zu entdecken.

Walbeobachtungen - Chiriqui besitzt nicht nur eine traumhaftschöne Hochebene, sondern auch kilometerlange Pazifikküste. Vor allem in den Monaten von August bis Dezember lassen sich sehr viele Wale beobachten. In den Wintermonaten zieht es die Wale von der südlichen und nördlichen Hemisphäre in wärmere Gewässer, wo sie sich paaren und ihre Jungen gebären. Sehr viele Bootsführer und Fischer haben sich auf Walbeobachtungstouren spezialisiert.

Schnorcheln - Die Pazifikküste von Chiriqui ist lang und besitzt noch dazu eine Vielzahl an Inseln. Taucher und Schnorchler haben seit Jahren die Region um den Meeres-Nationalpark Golf von Chiriqui für sich entdeckt. Der Nationalpark beheimatet sehr viele Inseln mit großen Korallenriffen und einer sehr bunten und lebhaften Unterwasserwelt.

Surfen - Zum Surfen in Chiriqui bietet sich am besten der Strand La Barqueta an. Hier gibt es fast das ganze Jahr über recht ordentliche Wellen. Außerdem empfehlen sehr viele Surfer die Halbinsel Punta Burica.

Hochseefischen - Der Fischreichtum in Chiriquis Gewässern ist nicht unentdeckt geblieben. Hochseefischer und Sportfischer geniessen dort beste Bedingungen und viele Tour Operatur haben sich dort niedergelassen und bieten nun mehrtägige Bootstouren an.

Highlights von Chiriqui

  •  Boquete - Das kleine Städtchen Boquete bildet das Highlight in Chiriqui und ist Ausgangspunkt vieler Trekking Touren. Boquete wird auch Stadt der Blumen und Regenbogen genannt. Außerdem wird hier der beste Kaffee des Landes angebaut.

  •  Nationalpark La Amistad - Dieser Nationalpark besteht aus dichtem tropischen Nebelwald und beheimatet Tiere wie zum Beispiel den Jaguar, die Harpyie und den prächtigen Vogel Quetzal.

  •  Meeres-Nationalpark Golf von Chiriqui - Dieser Nationalpark beheimatet zahlreiche Inseln und bietet Tauchern und Strandurlaubern paradiesische Bedingungen. Die Insel Boca Brava ist ein sehr beliebtes Ausflugsziel.

Wie komme ich nach Chiriqui?

Mit dem Flugzeug - Von San Jose, Costa Rica nach David gibt es täglich Flüge.
Die Fluggesellschaft AirPanama fliegt mindestens zwei Mal am Tag von Panama City nach David. Die Maschinen starten vom Flughafen Albrook

Mit dem Bus - Vom Busbahnhof Albrook in Panama City fahren mehrere Busse täglich direkt nach David. Die Fahrt dauert ca. 6 Stunden. Von David aus gibt es mehrer Kleinbusse, die einen nach Boquete, Boca Chica, oder Volcan bringen.

Mit dem Mietwagen – Die Reise nach David mit dem Mietwagen verhält sich genauso wie die Anreise mit dem Bus.

TravelPanama Tipp

Sie sollten sich einen Ausflug in die Provinz Chiriqui nicht entgehen lassen. Diese Provinz ist eine der schönsten und abwechslungsreichsten Provinzen Panamas. Die klimatischen Bedingungen sind exzellent für Reisende höheren Alters.

Seit 2007 der Online-Reiseführer Nummer #1 für Panama und Panama City.

Unternehmen

Leistungen

Kontaktieren Sie uns

   travelpanama.eu

  info[AT]travelpanama.eu